About Coronaviruses, Surfaces and PREVOSAN

 

How long can SARS-CoV-2 viruses survive on surfaces?

Bacteria and viruses can survive on metal, glass or plastic surfaces for a very long time. In the case of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, the viruses can survive several days on such surfaces [G. Kampf et al. / Journal of Hospital Infection 104 (2020) 246-251].

 

How does PREVOSAN work?

PREVOSAN works in two ways:

PREVOSAN contains silver chloride. This releases very small amounts of silver ions on moist surfaces, which attack and destroy the germs’ membranes. This antibiotic effect has long been known in the case of silver cutlery.

PREVOSAN is also photo-oxidative. Daylight or artificial daylight from fluorescent tubes or LED spotlights trigger charge shifts and photocatalytic processes. Viruses or bacteria that are on PREVOSAN surfaces are physically destroyed. Such effects are used, for example, with self-cleaning wall paints.

 

How has the effectiveness of PREVOSAN been proven?

The renowned English testing institute IMSL (Industrial Microbiological Service Limited) has tested PREVOSAN in a practical droplet test. Phi6 bacteriopharges, which are very similar to coronaviruses, were dissolved in liquid and applied to PREVOSAN in tiny droplets. At room temperature, 50% humidity and artificial daylight, these dry up quickly. After 1 hour and after 2 hours, the effectiveness of the dried virus substance was determined by means of bacteria that serve as host.

After 1 hour, 95% of the viruses are deactivated.

After 2 hours, 99.9% of the viruses are deactivated.

 

How is the validity of the droplet test?

The usual test method for virucidal surfaces is specified in the ISO 21702 standard. Here the test is carried out in a permanently moist environment. Water-soluble substances such as silver or copper ions are very mobile under such conditions and have a very good effect on the pathogens. This often makes them seem much more effective than they really are.

The droplet test simulates the practical conditions in which the surfaces dry quickly and only a minimal film of moisture remains, much better. Because of this, we only rely on this test.

The testing institute IMSL is leading the development of improved test methods for this area.

 

Does PREVOSAN also affect bacteria?

 

The effect of PREVOSAN on the intestinal bacterium E. Coli, which can cause various diseases and multiplies well on many surfaces, was examined by the Federal Institute for Materials Research and Development (BAM) in accordance with ISO 22196:

After one hour, the bacteria count has decreased by 99.999%.

 

How does the smear infection work in the case of Covid-19?

Covid 19 is transmitted via the so-called droplet infection: infected people excrete the viruses via droplets of saliva with the air they breathe.

These can get to surfaces and from there are transferred via the hands to the mucous membranes (nose, mouth, eyes) of healthy people. There are cells that can be attacked by the virus, causing Covid 19 to be triggered.

Therefore, the recommendation is to wash your hands very often and not to touch your face.

 

Is PREVOSAN a biocidal product?

According to the biocidal product regulation EU 528/2012, PREVOSAN is a treated product. Due to its primary biocidal use, has to be registered as a biocidal product. It is registered in Germany under BAuA No.-96251. The active ingredient is silver chloride. The silver chloride content is 22 mg / m². Silver chloride is also approved for direct food contact.

 

How relevant is the smear infection for the transmission of Covid-19?

Infectious droplets can infect healthy people in a number of ways.

The droplets can be absorbed directly with the air you breathe. This is where distance and wearing masks help.

Very small droplets of so-called aerosols (diameter <5 µm) can remain in the air for a long time. However, the volume of the aerosols and thus the number of viruses contained is very small compared to the total volume of the excreted liquid. Around 99% of the infectious material has a diameter> 100 µm [J.P. Duguid, J. Hyg. 44, (1949) 471-479]. If these droplets get past the mask, they sink to the ground within a very short time due to their weight. From there they can be resumed and lead to infection.

A final assessment of which route of infection has which part in the infection process is still very difficult.

 

What changes with the appearance of the mutated viruses?

In the B. 1.1.7 variant of the virus, which is increasingly widespread in Germany, the structure of the spike protein is changed so that it can better interact with the receptors of the host cells. The key-lock principle works better, the virus can more easily penetrate the cells and convert them to virus production.

This also increases the likelihood of the smear infection, as fewer viruses now have to be transmitted for a successful infection.

This does not affect the effectiveness of PREVOSAN, as it attacks the unchanged envelope of the virus.

Informationen zu Coronaviren, Oberflächen und PREVOSAN

 

 

Wie lange können SARS-CoV-2 Viren auf Oberflächen überleben?

Bakterien und behüllte Viren können auf Metall, Glas oder Kunststoffflächen sehr lange überleben. Im Falle des SARS-CoV-2 Virus können die Viren mehrere Tage auf solchen Flächen überleben [G. Kampf et al. / Journal of Hospital Infection 104 (2020) 246-251].

 

Wie wirkt PREVOSAN?

PREVOSAN wirkt auf zwei Wegen:

PREVOSAN enthält Silberchlorid. Auf feuchten Oberflächen werden dadurch sehr kleine Mengen Silberionen freigesetzt, welche die Membranen der Keime angreifen und zerstören. Dieser antibiotische Effekt ist im Falle von Silberbesteck schon sehr lange bekannt.

PREVOSAN ist außerdem photooxidativ wirksam. Tageslicht oder künstliches Tageslicht aus Leuchtstoffröhren oder LED-Strahlern lösen Ladungsverschiebungen und photokatalytische Prozesse aus. Viren oder Bakterien, die sich auf PREVOSAN Oberflächen befinden, werden physikalisch zerstört. Solche Effekte werden beispielsweise bei selbstreinigenden Wandfarben angewendet.

 

Wie wurde die Wirksamkeit von PREVOSAN nachgewiesen?

Das renommierte englische Prüfinstitut IMSL (Industrial Microbiological Service Limited) hat PREVOSAN im praxisnahen Tröpfchentest geprüft. Phi6 Bakteriophargen, die eine sehr große Ähnlichkeit zu Coronaviren aufweisen, wurden in Flüssigkeit gelöst und in winzigen Tröpfchen auf PREVOSAN aufgebracht. Bei Raumtemperatur, 50% Luftfeuchtigkeit und künstlichem Tageslicht sind diese schnell eingetrocknet. Nach 1h und nach 2h wurde die Wirksamkeit der eingetrockneten Virensubstanz mittels Bakterien, die als Wirt dienen festgestellt.

Nach 1h sind 95% der Viren deaktiviert.

Nach 2h sind 99,9% der Viren deaktiviert.

 

Wie aussagefähig ist der Tröpfchen-Test?

Die übliche Testmethode für viruzide Oberflächen ist in der Norm ISO 21702 festgelegt. Hier wird die Prüfung in dauerhaft feuchter Umgebung durchgeführt. Wasserlösliche Substanzen wie Silber oder Kupferionen sind unter solchen Bedingungen sehr beweglich und wirken sehr gut auf die Erreger. Das lässt sie häufig viel wirksamer erscheinen als sie das in Wirklichkeit sind.

Der Tröpfchen-Test simuliert die Praxisbedingungen, bei der die Oberflächen schnell trocknen und nur ein minimaler Feuchtigkeitsfilm zurückbleibt, viel besser. Aus diesem Grund verlassen wir uns nur auf diesen Test.

Das Prüfinstitut IMSL ist federführend in der Entwicklung verbesserter Testmethoden für diesen Bereich.

 

Wirkt PREVOSAN auch auf Bakterien?

Die Wirkung von PREVOSAN auf das Darmbakterium E. Coli, das verschiedene Krankheiten auslösen und sich auf vielen Oberflächen gut vermehren kann, wurde von der Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und Materialentwicklung (BAM) gemäß ISO 22196 untersucht:

Nach einer Stunde wurde eine Abnahme der Bakterienkonzentration um 99,999% festgestellt.

 

Wie läuft die Schmierinfektion im Falle von Covid-19 ab?   

Die Übertragung von Covid 19 erfolgt über die sogenannte Tröpfcheninfektion: Infizierte Personen scheiden die Viren über Speicheltröpfchen mit der Atemluft aus.

Diese können auf Oberflächen gelangen und von dort über die Hände auf Schleimhäute (Nase, Mund, Augen) gesunder Menschen übertragen werden. Dort befinden sich Zellen, die von den Viren befallen werden können, wodurch Covid 19 ausgelöst wird.

Deshalb besteht die Empfehlung sich sehr oft die Hände zu waschen und sich nicht ins Gesicht zu fassen.

 

Ist PREVOSAN ein Biozidprodukt?

Gemäß der Biozidproduktverordnung EU 528/2012 ist PREVOSAN eine behandelte Ware und aufgrund des primären bioziden Nutzens als Biozidprodukt zu registrieren. Es ist in Deutschland unter der BAuA Nr.-96251 angemeldet. Der Wirkstoff ist Silberchlorid. Der Gehalt an Silberchlorid beträgt 22mg/m². Silberchlorid ist auch für den direkten Lebensmittelkontakt zugelassen.

 

Wie relevant ist die Schmierinfektion für die Übertragung von Covid 19?

Infektiöse Tröpfchen können auf verschiedene Weise gesunde Menschen infizieren.

Die Tröpfchen können direkt mit der Atemluft aufgenommen werden. Hier helfen Abstand und das Tragen von Masken.

Sehr kleine Tröpfchen sogenannte Aerosole (Durchmesser < 5µm) können lange in der Luft verbleiben. Allerdings ist das Volumen der Aerosole und damit die Anzahl der enthaltenen Viren sehr klein verglichen zu dem gesamten Volumen der ausgeschiedenen Flüssigkeit.

Rund 99% des infektiösen Materials hat einen Durchmesser >100µm [J.P. Duguid, J. Hyg. 44, (1949) 471-479]. Gelangen diese Tröpchen an der Maske vorbei in die Raumluft sinken sie aufgrund des Gewichts binnen sehr kurzer Zeit zu Boden. Von dort können Sie wieder aufgenommen werden und zu Infektionen führen.

Eine abschließende Beurteilung, welcher Infektionsweg welchen Anteil am Infektionsgeschehen hat, ist nach wie vor sehr schwierig.

 

Was ändert sich durch das Auftreten der mutierten Viren?

Bei der in Deutschland zunehmend verbreiteten B. 1.1.7 Variante des Virus ist die Struktur des Spike Proteins verändert, damit sie besser mit den Rezeptoren der Wirtszellen wechselwirken kann. Das Schlüssel-Schloss Prinzip funktioniert besser, das Virus kann einfacher in die Zellen eindringen und diese zur Virenproduktion umfunktionieren.

Dies erhöht die Wahrscheinlichkeit auch für die Schmierinfektion, da jetzt weniger Viren für eine erfolgreiche Infektion übertragen werden müssen.

Die Wirksamkeit von PREVOSAN wird dadurch nicht beeinflusst, da dieses die nicht veränderte Hülle des Virus angreift.